Posted by: eventer4life | December 31, 2011

2011 Recap and 2012 Goals!

Hey! Long time no post, I apologize. Since I last posted, a lot has happened. I’ll start with recapping my 2011 goals, before getting to the other stuff!

At the end of 2010, these were my goals, with my comments on them from right now!:

-Post on a regular basis, even if it’s just 2 sentences at the end of every day! I want to aim for at least 3 posts a week, I’ll try for 6-7 though :] They might be short but I’ll try!–This did not happen…sorryyyy :/ 11 posts in 2011 is not exactly regular.

-Perfect my braiding skills!- I am actually quite a decent braider now!!

-Reduce my braiding time for 1 1/2 hours to…30 minutes maybe?-YESS 15 minutes! If I’m in a hurry. 30 minutes is pretty long for me now!

-Improve my dressage overall-Definitely! 25.5 at Training level, and a 33.5 at Preliminary! not too shabby, considering I was struggling to get below 40 last year!

-Stay present at competitions, so that my riding can stay near the level it is at home-Getting there, I’m definitely all there on cross country now yay!

-Start riding Dawkins again, even if it’s just a few lessons at the end of the year-Can’t believe I’m able to check this goal off my list, but I competed him successfully in our first Preliminary, won at Training level, was 2nd at area champs, and had other successful rides at Training! Never imagined (obviously) I’d be riding him again by the end of the year, let alone competing Prelim, so I’m thrilled with him.

-Stop relying so much on my hand-haha…not so much. Better I think.

-Keep my rhythm to the base of fences-Again better, not much though.

-Stop panicking and pulling back on the approach to fences-Sometimes yes! Improved, just not completely better.

-KEEP COUNTING!!!-I don’t anymore, but that’s okay!

-Get more video/pictures of my riding…even if I just see if I can buy more show videos -Yesss lots of show videos this year!!

-Break in my dressage saddle- Uh. Actually, no. My saddle does not fit me or my horses very well so it is FOR SALE (anyone interested? practically brand new beautiful Amerigo!), and I borrowed saddles all year.

And here are my goals for 2012!

-Have 0 jump penalties on cross country

-Finish at least one 1* on my dressage score…the more the better!

-Qualify and compete at NAJYRC in the 1* (Trying to decide which area…I’m leaning towards area 6 but I’m still considering area 7. Any input?)

-Improve my sitting trot and position…MAJORLY

-Run at least 4 times a week

-Work on Intermediate dressage movements (just for fun…no plans for intermediate any time soon (: )

-Improve my show jumping on both horses

-Get confident, consistent, and careful (hahahaha just the first two actually, I liked having 3 cs…) at 3’6″+ show jumping

-Find a dressage saddle!

-Once again I’ll attempt to post more often…we’ll see.

I’ll try to post again soon, but thanks for reading! I am very excited for 2012 and all it brings, and not too sad about 2011 ending…It was a great year in many ways, but also not so great in a few ways. I miss Dru terribly, and wish I still had him. I miss seeing his face sticking over the stall door, jumping him around a big course, snuggling with him…everything about him. I suppose I can’t complain too much as he is now a happy beginner novice packer up in Washington, and I have Dawkins and Rafter dafter! I am thrilled to say that Dawkins has shown that he can be a preliminary horse again, and even a competitive one!

I’ve also had some amazing people come into my life this year…especially my unbelievable trainer. Without her I would be maybe successful at Novice on Dawkins, and I never would be imagining Young Riders next year. She has done wonders for my riding, and I can’t wait to see how far my riding gets with her help in the coming year!

Thanks for reading! Happy New Year, and I hope 2012 is fabulous for all of you (:

I’ll leave you with a few pictures, and the video of Dawkins and me at my first preliminary!

ImageImageImage


Responses

  1. Wonderful Brigit. We are so proud of you and all that you are accomplishing this year. You are doing a really wonderful job. And I admire you for setting out your goals and evaluating yourself on what you did this past year. Not many of us have the courage to do that. Love you lots. Grandmom

  2. Please try to update more often – I love reading about your adventures! Best of luck this year!

    • I’ll definitely make an effort to update more often this year! Thank you very much!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

